iladelph53 wrote:PTOITWCFTPP wrote:heyeaglefn wrote:PTOITWCFTPP wrote:Just once can we not lose like this
The Giants game was like this.
Playoff game then
seriously though, this eagles team has consistently won these games
Polar Bear Phan wrote:Pretty sure Ryan was already out of the pocket, so it couldn't have been illegal contact even if beyond five yards.
PSUEagle wrote:Polar Bear Phan wrote:Pretty sure Ryan was already out of the pocket, so it couldn't have been illegal contact even if beyond five yards.
That doesn't negate illegal contact - only thing that does is if the ball is tipped.
heyeaglefn wrote:PSUEagle wrote:Polar Bear Phan wrote:Pretty sure Ryan was already out of the pocket, so it couldn't have been illegal contact even if beyond five yards.
That doesn't negate illegal contact - only thing that does is if the ball is tipped.
Think you may be wrong.
ARTICLE 2. ILLEGAL CONTACT WITHIN FIVE YARDS
Within the five-yard zone, if the player who receives the snap remains in the pocket with the ball, a defender may not make original contact in the back of a receiver, nor may he maintain contact after the receiver has moved beyond a point that is even with the defender.
Note: If a defender contacts a receiver within the five-yard zone of the line of scrimmage, loses contact, and then contacts him again within the five-yard zone, it is a foul for illegal contact.
ARTICLE 3. ILLEGAL CONTACT BEYOND FIVE-YARD ZONE
Beyond the five-yard zone, if the player who receives the snap remains in the pocket with the ball, a defender cannot initiate contact with a receiver who is attempting to evade him. A defender may use his hands or arms only to defend or protect himself against impending contact caused by a receiver.
PSUEagle wrote:heyeaglefn wrote:PSUEagle wrote:Polar Bear Phan wrote:Pretty sure Ryan was already out of the pocket, so it couldn't have been illegal contact even if beyond five yards.
That doesn't negate illegal contact - only thing that does is if the ball is tipped.
Think you may be wrong.
ARTICLE 2. ILLEGAL CONTACT WITHIN FIVE YARDS
Within the five-yard zone, if the player who receives the snap remains in the pocket with the ball, a defender may not make original contact in the back of a receiver, nor may he maintain contact after the receiver has moved beyond a point that is even with the defender.
Note: If a defender contacts a receiver within the five-yard zone of the line of scrimmage, loses contact, and then contacts him again within the five-yard zone, it is a foul for illegal contact.
ARTICLE 3. ILLEGAL CONTACT BEYOND FIVE-YARD ZONE
Beyond the five-yard zone, if the player who receives the snap remains in the pocket with the ball, a defender cannot initiate contact with a receiver who is attempting to evade him. A defender may use his hands or arms only to defend or protect himself against impending contact caused by a receiver.
I don't see anything explicitly permitting illegal contact when the QB is outside of the pocket...
PSUEagle wrote:heyeaglefn wrote:PSUEagle wrote:Polar Bear Phan wrote:Pretty sure Ryan was already out of the pocket, so it couldn't have been illegal contact even if beyond five yards.
That doesn't negate illegal contact - only thing that does is if the ball is tipped.
Think you may be wrong.
ARTICLE 2. ILLEGAL CONTACT WITHIN FIVE YARDS
Within the five-yard zone, if the player who receives the snap remains in the pocket with the ball, a defender may not make original contact in the back of a receiver, nor may he maintain contact after the receiver has moved beyond a point that is even with the defender.
Note: If a defender contacts a receiver within the five-yard zone of the line of scrimmage, loses contact, and then contacts him again within the five-yard zone, it is a foul for illegal contact.
ARTICLE 3. ILLEGAL CONTACT BEYOND FIVE-YARD ZONE
Beyond the five-yard zone, if the player who receives the snap remains in the pocket with the ball, a defender cannot initiate contact with a receiver who is attempting to evade him. A defender may use his hands or arms only to defend or protect himself against impending contact caused by a receiver.
I don't see anything explicitly permitting illegal contact when the QB is outside of the pocket...
heyeaglefn wrote:PSUEagle wrote:heyeaglefn wrote:PSUEagle wrote:Polar Bear Phan wrote:Pretty sure Ryan was already out of the pocket, so it couldn't have been illegal contact even if beyond five yards.
That doesn't negate illegal contact - only thing that does is if the ball is tipped.
Think you may be wrong.
ARTICLE 2. ILLEGAL CONTACT WITHIN FIVE YARDS
Within the five-yard zone, if the player who receives the snap remains in the pocket with the ball, a defender may not make original contact in the back of a receiver, nor may he maintain contact after the receiver has moved beyond a point that is even with the defender.
Note: If a defender contacts a receiver within the five-yard zone of the line of scrimmage, loses contact, and then contacts him again within the five-yard zone, it is a foul for illegal contact.
ARTICLE 3. ILLEGAL CONTACT BEYOND FIVE-YARD ZONE
Beyond the five-yard zone, if the player who receives the snap remains in the pocket with the ball, a defender cannot initiate contact with a receiver who is attempting to evade him. A defender may use his hands or arms only to defend or protect himself against impending contact caused by a receiver.
I don't see anything explicitly permitting illegal contact when the QB is outside of the pocket...
That's not how the rule book works. Where is it a penalty to contact a WR when the QB is outside the pocket in the rule book? This is the illegal contact rule.
PTOITWCFTPP wrote:Thinking about coming up for the game
CalvinBall wrote:PTOITWCFTPP wrote:Thinking about coming up for the game
Got a couch for you. It pulls out!